at the Rainbow Blossom community room
3046 Bardstown Rd. Louisville, KY 40205


 
Saturday - Sunday
FEBRUARY 11-12

Early bird pricing $299
(before Jan 15, 2017)
Regular price $350
At the door $375
 
Bend and Zen members get 10% OFF!
 
Saturday, Feb 11th, 5:30p - 7:00p
Book Signing w/ Wine & Cheese
Leslie Kaminoff
Saturday, February 11, 2017
9:00am-12:00pm
Introduction to Breath-Centered Yoga and Demystifying the Bandhas
Yoga practice in the tradition of Krishnamacharya and Desikachar exhibits many distinctive principles and practices not found in other Hatha Yoga lineages. In this introductory lecture-demo, Leslie will review Krishnamacharya’s teachings from a historical, scholarly and practical perspective. He will also discuss Desikachar’s contribution both to his father’s tradition and Leslie’s education, as well as the history and integration of Eastern and Western anatomical systems.

1:30pm-4:30pm
Breath and Spine: A 3-D Perspective
Breath-cueing in asana practice typically links inhaling to spinal extension (back-bending) and exhaling to spinal flexion (forward-bending). While these standard cues are an ideal way to introduce the idea of linking breath to movement, there are many other possibilities. This session will present a series of explorations that explore those possibilities, and opens the breath and spine to new dimensions of freedom.


Sunday, February 12, 2017
9:00am-12:00pm
Bones, Muscles & Structural Diversity
In this practice-oriented workshop, Leslie will review the key structures of the spine and breathing mechanism that can contribute to (or sometimes interfere with) back- and forward-bending. Even a small change to things we do frequently is a whole lot of change!

1:30pm-4:30pm
Alignment Cueing for Individuals in Group Practice
You can't keep every student in your class safe, but you can help them learn how to keep themselves safe. By practicing mindful teaching language, imagery and open-ended pacing, we will explore how students in a class of any size can have a truly individual experience.


LESLIE KAMINOFF is a yoga educator inspired by the tradition of T.K.V. Desikachar. For over three decades he has led workshops and developed specialized education in the fields of yoga, breath anatomy and bodywork. Leslie is the founder of The Breathing Project, a New York City based educational non-profit dedicated to teaching individualized, breath-centered yoga. His unique year-long yoga anatomy course is now available online at yogaanatomy.net. Leslie is the co-author, with Amy Matthews, of the best-selling book Yoga Anatomy.